Angel in trainers

I’ve mentioned before about my cyber friends and how they have become increasingly important to me. I am lucky enough to have a group of online friends who fall over themselves to be there for me, to be as supportive as they can, even if they live the other side of the country, the other side of the world.

Not all of them are parents of children with special needs, but I still find great comfort and support in them nonetheless. But recently one online friend has really astounded me. I have never had the privledge of meeting Aimee, although I would like to so very much. We’ve never met, she’s never cuddled Samuel but for him she ran 10k.

Aimee's medal

This weekend Aimee ran the Lincoln 10k because, well she must be a bit bonkers and tremendously fit, but because she wanted to do it for Sam. Aimee wanted to do something to directly help Sam, so she raised money for his hospice Julia’s House which he visits each week but also has carers come out to our home regularly, to provide care and play with him here to give me a break (and for them to have Sam cuddles without other distractions!). I’ve sat in on a handful of sessions at the hospice and been lucky enough to meet some of the other amazing children who go there. Each and every one of them has their own cruel and painful battle to fight every single day and Julia’s House brings them so much pleasure and fun, it’s lovely to see first hand.

At the time I’m writing this post, Aimee has raised an amazing £270. Some of this money we’ve donated along with Sam’s Grandparents, but the large majority came from Aimee‘s friends and people that are part of our online community. People Samuel and I haven’t met and unfortunately may never do. If you are reading this and are one of the generous people who have kindly donated, thank you, thank you all so very much.

And to Aimee,  I can’t put it into words how we feel about what you have done. But all I can say is that we thank you Aimee from the bottom of our hearts.

You can still donate at Aimee’s Just Giving page

One thought on “Angel in trainers

  1. Pingback: Love All Blogs » the altruistic blogging network and showcasing site that welcomes all bloggers » 02-04-12 Love Charity Weekly

Leave a Reply

