Guest post: A real yummy cuddle monster

Samuel and I met my dear twitter friend @deborabora for the first time this week and she’s kindly agreed to write a unique guest post. A Samuel cuddle review:

A REAL YUMMY CUDDLE MONSTER by @deborabora

We need 4 hugs a day for survival. We need 8 hugs a day for maintenance. We need 12 hugs a day for growth.
—Virginia Satir, family therapist

And when one of those cuddles is with Samuel, I swear you get your 12 hugs in one.

I’m not forthcoming in requesting cuddles from people’s children. As much as I would like a hug I tend to wait to be asked. I’ve no real idea why but something to do with watching newborns be passed around a million people getting every increasingly grumpy. However, even when I’m the only person in the room and itching for a cuddle, I can’t bring myself to ask. Its silly really.

Anyway, I digress.

From the word go, as soon as I saw a sleeping Samuel, I wanted a cuddle and so when he stirred and the lovely Zoë asked if I wanted a cuddle I jumped at the chance.

As Zoë has said before in her blog posts, you need to support Samuel’s head, so need to hold him like a younger baby. But, unlike a younger baby there is more to Samuel which makes that cuddle a real yummy hug. Like the difference between trying to hug a stick of a person compared to someone who has more meat on them making them, and Samuel, a real cuddle monster.

To top off the gorgeousness of his cuddle he had the most tickle-able toes. I frequently found myself drawn to tickling his little toes.

My only downside is myself. I was nervous…like I am when I hold anyone’s child for the first time. I was stiff and behaving like I’d never held a baby before. Which meant, my arm soon began to ache and I had to give up my cuddle much sooner than I’d have liked. However, having had my first cuddle…I’m addicted and want another! Next time (if I’m allowed a next time of course), I hope I can offer a more enjoyable cuddle to Samuel and remember to relax…I’m not going to break him (I hope), and perhaps I can help him grow a little as he helped me grow a lot.

2 thoughts on “Guest post: A real yummy cuddle monster

Leave a Reply

