Dear Daddy

I can’t tell you that I love you. But I do. I can’t show you that I think you are an amazing Daddy. But you are.

When I was born you were the first person to hold me and to cuddle me. You were the first person to talk to me. You introduced me to Mummy and from then on we were a team.

For all my eight weeks in NICU you came in all day, every day with Mummy and sat by my incubator/cot looking at me, stroking me, cuddling me. When it was time to do a nappy you were always keen to do it (I don’t think Mummy was as enthusiastic as you), anything to help me. You would always be asking the doctors questions, you were always fighting for me. You’d do anything that needed to be done. You were my voice. My spokesperson. You’d question what needed to be questioned and were never afraid to step in, change the plan or just say no. And you still do this for me, even now.

You and Mummy always say that Topiramate and Dr W got me home. But I think it was you. You never lost sight of wanting me to come home and I think you passed on some of your fight to me.

Mummy talks to me a lot about you when you are at work and we both always really look forward to when you come home. I love that when you come in the door, often before you’ve even taken your coat off, you come over to me and give me a kiss and cuddle.

Mummy always says how lucky she is that you are so wonderful and always ready and willing to share the Samuel-jobs. You share everything and help with everything. It must be such a relief to Mummy when you are home for the school holidays – I love it because I get so many more Daddy-cuddles!

Everyone knows how much I like cuddles, but the best cuddles come from you. When you hold me in your arms I feel so warm and safe. So content. I love it when you sing to me and the way you make up funny nicknames for me.

Mummy might be my nurse and main carer, but you are what helps her do such a good job. You give her the strength and confidence to do what she does. Mummy thinks this might sound cheesy but you are her rock.

You are my hero. My champion. My buddy. My friend. My everything. And I love you very, very much.

With lots of love, Samuel xxx

16 thoughts on “Dear Daddy

  1. This made me cry, it’s beautiful! Can I be really cheeky and pinch some of your words for a status on my FB on father’s day? I would love to think of Charlie saying these words about his daddy. xx

  2. Pingback: Remembering the Good Things About Daddy, by Julie Moore |

  3. The best thing about doing a meme like this is getting to know new bloggers like you. I am truly touched by your post. Yes, Daddy sounds like an amazing man. And you are an amazing Mum.
    Thanks for linking up. Can’t wait to read more from you.
    Donna x

  4. Pingback: A carnival of Dear Dads | Mummy Central

  5. Pingback: Next to me | Tricky Customer

  6. Pingback: A carnival of Dear Dads |

Leave a Reply

