A Sky Full of Stars

We were having lunch today in a restaurant when Coldplay’s A Sky Full of Stars came on. It’s Samuel’s song. I can’t begin to explain the bittersweet emotions this song stirs in us. I love to hear it, but sometimes I’m looking forward to it finishing as it can truly make my heart ache.

But something about it today made me want to come on here and look around my old blog posts and remember what I use to write about when Samuel was still with us. I must admit, I am jealous of that person I was then, who still had Samuel here to love and care for.

I also had a look at the stats and I was rather overwhelmed to see that people still visit Tricky Customer and read our story. I want people to know about Samuel, to share in his wonderfulness. I want people to understand more about ARX. I want people to think about Samuel, to say his name and to know about the life he had, albeit far too short. I hope that people learn from his story, the take something positive away from it. Even if it is just to give their own children an extra big hug.

Maybe with that in mind, I should keep this blog going then.

My dream has always been to start something wonderful in his name. To do something to help other children like Samuel. To help other families like us. I’m not really sure what to do and where to start but one day I hope to get there.

I also want to thank all those people who held our hands (and held us up) along the way. From the very start, it was the angels in Neonatal right through to Julia’s House who regularly looked after Samuel, support us as a family and even at the end, look after him before his funeral. And in between, of course, there was Langside School, Samuel’s wonderful school. Possibly the best year of his little life was the experience of going to school.

I have so much I want to do in his name. But where do I start?

And by the way, if you aren’t a fan of Coldplay, just listen to the lyrics…

“A Sky Full Of Stars”

‘Cause you’re a sky, ’cause you’re a sky full of stars
I’m gonna give you my heart
‘Cause you’re a sky, ’cause you’re a sky full of stars
‘Cause you light up the pathI don’t care, go on and tear me apart
I don’t care if you do, ooh
‘Cause in a sky, ’cause in a sky full of stars
I think I saw you

‘Cause you’re a sky, ’cause you’re a sky full of stars
I wanna die in your arms
‘Cause you get lighter the more it gets dark
I’m gonna give you my heart

I don’t care, go on and tear me apart
I don’t care if you do, ooh
‘Cause in a sky, ’cause in a sky full of stars
I think I see you
I think I see you

‘Cause you’re a sky, you’re a sky full of stars
Such a heavenly view
You’re such a heavenly view

 

Leave a comment